Patient Study #1

The Doctor keeps scribbling with a blank look on his face

“I am NOT crazy”

“I am pretty sure of that. Just because I have a few alter–egos doesn’t mean I’m crazy, it just means I’m … different.”

“………..?”

“Yes, definitely different most people have two or three maximum. They don’t like to admit it but they do.

Rather than take the psychobabble Dissociative Identity Disorder path, I prefer to use Cicero’s 1st century psychological construct where the alter – ego(s) is a “second self, a trusted friend”

Ah! friends, I have very few real ones but many of my alters.

First there’s me – She who shall not be named. I’m not certain how to describe myself apart from the generic ‘female, fair skinned, African, average height’ blah that’s on my driver’s license. I am calm and love to help people but I really prefer my own company.

Next up is Megumi, she’s a slightly older version of me. More regal, graceful and thinks carefully before she speaks. She paints with water colors at an amateur level and is as quiet as I am.

Sayuri is a bit of a child and very playful. She has an almost insatiable curiosity about practically everything and trusts too much in my opinion. She’s the cute ‘everyone loves her’ type.

The bulk of my talent is with Anka she’s the one that hones and perfects her skills. She tends to ‘zone out’ while working on a task with excellent results. She’s ok with people generally and doesn’t have issues meeting new people. What she does have an issue with is people being overly critical of her work. She does tend to get a bit touchy then. Well, more like ‘very’….

Then there are the twins, they don’t speak so I have no idea what their real names are. Megumi likes to call them Yin and Yang to satisfy her need for order so… whatever I guess. They’re ok, the twins – the very cliché Emo and Sunshine pairing you find in stories… mood extremes. Yin is ironically the happier of the two …. Makes me laugh because you’d think with all of Megumi’s wisdom she wouldn’t make such silly errors. Ah well, Yin is the sunshiny, cheery twin  while Yang is the emo one with the dank moods and insane musicality. I’m pretty sure she’d be a whiz with instruments if I ever put my mind to it…..”

“…….”

“Are you still listening Doc? I’ve barely scratched the surface. Perhaps I should continue next session?”

“……………”

“Yes, you’re right. I’ll leave now. Till next session then”

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

I’m not even going to try to explain this. Blame it on Sidney Sheldon’s ‘Tell Me Your Dreams’ suddenly resurfacing in my memory

I’ll just say I honestly do not believe in separate ‘people’/’souls’ existing in one person but more personas/behaviors that a person chooses to adopt. The former does make for excellent reading though. 🙂

Love,

J

About Jade

artist, architect, lover of music and gadgets.....

11 comments

  1. THAT IS EXACTLY WHAT I THOUGHT WHEN I STARTED READING THIS!!! Thats my fave Sidney Sheldon novel! Well I also did think this sorta sounds like me…but yea…Im not crazy. I loved it though…very relatable 🙂

  2. nice one
    i think i’ll write about my own alter egos later

  3. hmmmmn, I want to say something, but i dont wan’t to sound awkward so i’ll just keep my mouth shut.
    cos it seems like i might be the only one pointing it out 😀
    ok bye

  4. loool…
    “Japanese names”
    Im weird, i know…hehe, but that was just something that i couldnt ignore…reminds me of kenshi nakamura, if im right…are u a manga fan?

  5. yay!!! finally i’ve found a PIC online…
    😀

Leave a Reply

